Reviews

04/02/2022
Big shout out to Nicol, our waiter at The Douglas tonight. We especially appreciated your thoughtfulness towards our wee 2 year old granddaughter. Thanks again Nicol - you're a star!

Local Review

28/10/2021
Visited for lunch.... great service and great food. Would come back to Arran just to eat here

Guest review

07/10/2021
Lovely hotel amazing rooms beautiful restaurant and very helpful staff a must if you are staying on Arran

Guest review

16/09/2021
Had a great couple of nights. Very friendly helpful staff, great cocktails and the food was fabulous.

Guest review

05/10/2021
I cannot fault The Douglas. Beautiful room, really friendly staff and amazing vegan food options. I'll definitely be back!

Guest review

09/06/2021
absolutely outstanding great food great service and great prices and excellent customer service full 5 *

Guest review

06/02/2021
Once again, a lovely takeaway meal from The Douglas. Never fails to impress. Thank you very much for letting this tired mammy stay out the kitchen tonight. Highly recommend the burger 👌 delicious.

Guest review

26/11/2020
Had a lovely takeaway from the Douglas last night for my stepson's birthday. Would highly recommend. They went above and beyond to make our meal special. Even though mac and cheese wasn't on the menu this week they made is especially for the birthday boy and it was fabulous! We will be back! Cannot praise the staff enough, thank you!

Guest review

03/08/2021
We stayed in the Goatfell Suite and the Balcony Suite for our friend Sharon’s 50th ... they were wonderful... the weather was gorgeous on the Saturday so after walking Goatfell we spent the afternoon on the rooftop terrace enjoying the views... just amazing. dinner in the restaurant was fabulous as well.... the perfect getaway!

Guest review

27/06/2021
First time staying overnight in The Douglas (normally just been for food and drinks when on Arran which is always excellent)! We were not disappointed! Great big room with private patio, which is dog friendly, spotlessly clean, friendly welcoming staff, great breakfast, and fond farewells! Would most definitely stay again! Thanks all!

Guest review

03/05/2021
2-night stay to celebrate the end of lockdown 🎉🍾🥂 Fabulous food, huge room, (enormous and very comfy bed) Good location, friendly staff. Would definitely stay again!

Guest review

01/08/2021
We booked in for dinner here on the basis of the vegan steak. It did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely, the staff are spot on with their customer service, but most of all - as a vegan eating out and being used to disappointing food - I can’t overstate this. The vegan steak is delicious, my non vegan husband loved it too. And to have a couple of vegan dessert options too - yay! The blancmange was amazing, as was the sticky toffee pudding. Thank you for such a lovely meal

Guest review

18/06/2021
Hi, just wanted to say the staff are an absolute credit to the hotel from reception, bar and bistro we felt so welcomed by the friendliness and good service.
The hotel itself is beautiful and my husband surprised me by booking the absolutely stunning Goatfell suite which then inspired me to climb Goatfell itself. 
As our daughter lives at Balmichael glamping and we visit Arran regularly we will most definitely return for another meal and (the best) Espresso Martinis.

Guest review

28/11/2021
I write on behalf of my wife and myself to offer feedback regarding our stay in the Goatfell Suite during the above dates. Reception. From the booking stage to our arrival, we could not have been made more welcome by Holly, whose enthusiasm and professionalism were highly notable. Sharon and Dawn also deserve due credit for attending to our requests with friendly and genuine rapport. Dining. The food, breakfast and dinner, was excellent and well done to the chef(s). Breakfast in our room was made more pleasant by the enthusiastic crew who delivered it both days. Dinner was particularly memorable due to the professional delivery by the waiting staff Alistair and Nicol; and we would have bottled Alistair’s enthusiasm and humour had we been able to do so! Hygiene. Our room was immaculate, as were the toilets and communal areas and your cleaners did a fantastic job. Overall impression. Have I mentioned enthusiasm? We have stayed in countless 4*/5* hotels over the years and many deserve their star rating. What sets the Douglas apart, however, is the enthusiasm and warmth that simply oozes from all your staff. They have a unique trait that ensures guests feel they are genuinely welcome, without being either stuffy or too casual. If I have missed any names due to my forgetfulness, this similarly applies to them. In sum, what a cracking stay and engagement with your team more than compensated for the inclement weather. We would ask that you please pass on our most grateful thanks to all your staff for their gargantuan efforts in making our stay so memorable. With very best wishes for your continued success.

Guest review

03/01/2022
An excellent hotel who supported us so well when our ferries were cancelled! They coped so well with a sudden influx of guests and couldn’t have been more helpful. Great atmosphere, stunning modern design, superb service from all staff, lovely rooms and quality food! All very reasonably priced as well!! Outstanding VFM!

Guest review

28/11/2021
My partner and I spent a few nights here. The staff were great and very helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant (great food) and the bar. All in all, it was a good time and worth the price. Keep doing your than Douglas!

Guest review

21/11/2021
We chose Arran as our girlie getaway to celebrate my mums 80 th birthday and were absolutely delighted with the Douglas Hotel. We needed a third bed in our room which was no problem. All staff were super-efficient and extremely friendly. Food was excellent. We will be back.

Guest review

14/11/2021
Stayed at the Douglas for 2 nights in an executive room DBB. Can’t fault it. Our room was spotlessly clean, large with not only a comfy chair but a chaise lounge. Also nice added touch of a magnified mirror (being someone who wears glasses need help to see putting eyemake up on). Both breakfast and dinner excellent and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend

Guest review

01/11/2021
Perfect stay. Very dog friendly. Our room (101 ha!) was pristine with lovely views. So happy it was dog friendly. We are in the bar with the dog which was no different from the restaurant. The food was superb. Breakfast was delicious. Particularly the perfectly soft-boiled eggs with the yellowest yolks ever. Definitely free range. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. The hotel is directly opposite the ferry terminal. We left a day early as the weather was awful and I was feeling a little unwell, but this is no reflection on the hotel, we'll definitely return.

Guest review

29/10/2021
Scotland is not short of grand old Victorian hotels. Sadly, however, all too often they are shadows of their former selves, run down, tired, in need of a lot of TLC and often also offer a service that leaves much to be desired. I'm happy to report that none of these criticisms can be levelled at the Douglas. Occupying a prime and commanding position on Brodick's seafront, it has been lovingly upgraded (at some point over the last few years, though it feels recent) to be a stylish, chic and contemporary hotel. Design has clearly been a priority and no expense has been spared in providing the full boutique experience. I was pleased to note that even the old sash and casement windows had been replaced with proper timber double glazed equivalents with not a bit of uPVC in sight! Excellent detail. Our room was excellent, a decent size, lovely big comfy bed, huge TV and everything you could want really, including an ironing board. A minibar would have been nice but I can live without it. We dined both nights in the restaurant. I was expecting it to be a little higher end but in fairness it does brand itself as a Bistro and is accordingly reasonably priced. It could be that there just isn't sufficient a market in Arran for fine dining and they have chosen to target slightly lower end food. Saying that, what was served was hot and tasty and there was a decent choice. We couldn't fault it all at the price and the staff were excellent too. Breakfast too was decent though I would have liked a couple of fishy options, smoked haddock or kippers as well as the "Full Scottish" variations. Good also to see a vegetarian option. Overall, couldn't fault the Douglas and would have no hesitation in going back.

Guest review

09/10/2021
Lovely afternoon lunch in The Douglas Bar. Very friendly good service. Had The Douglas Vegan steak. One of the chefs own creations of portobello mushrooms with wheat-gluten. 3 courses for vegans available.

Guest review

06/10/2021
Trip Advisor ask for 200 words in a review. If that limit were removed, then all that needs to be written is "Wow". Fabulous location, amazing views, beautifully appointed rooms, highly professional staff and amazing value. Nothing more needs to be said.

Guest review

26/09/2021
It’s been so great to have spent time at Douglas on our breaks from across the water. Once as a couple and twice with our family and our l baby granddaughter. Everyone so accommodating and kind. We had great service in all 3 visits. Compliments to the kitchen brigade. Great breakfast and beautiful dinners. Our steaks on Friday were fantastic. Fantastic produce …. Makes for great taste. And to all bar staff and bistro staff. Thank you. This hotel has great rooms, very well appointed and so clean. Lovely views over Brodick Bay to the castle and beyond. 2 mins from ferry terminal and a short walk to the mini golf and beach.

Guest review

21/09/2021
We just had two nights in the Goatfell Suite and now I know that any other hotel I ever stay in will not match up to this! What a beautiful hotel, beautiful room, to die for views, wonderful staff. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and didn’t want to leave!

Guest review

20/09/2021
Stayed two nights in Sept. excellent hotel room with the benefit of a patio garden in the ground floor room. Dined both nights in the hotel and the food was varied and marvellous standard. The Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.

Guest review

13/09/2021
Great hotel - friendly welcoming staff, comfortable environment, ideal location and good food. 100 metres from the ferry terminal, right on the front at Brodick. Bistro/restaurant is smart and well-appointed but relaxed and informal. Nothing to fault - great two-night stay!

Guest review

24/08/2021
We stayed here for 3 nights, lovely small hotel with nice staff, good food, excellent breakfasts and great drinks selection, room large and spacious with a huge bed and garden outside, perfect for our stay in Arran, gardens lovely and bar With sea view

Guest review

10/08/2021
This hotel was a great find - the building is historic but updated and has been done with great care lovely interior. Staff were amazing and very helpful with all questions and requests. Great location and view of the sea and mountains . Food was top notch

Guest review

03/08/2021
We have just returned from a fantastic 3-night stay at The Douglas. It was a much-rearranged birthday present for my sister and the hotel were so accommodating throughout. When we finally managed to get there the stay couldn't have been better. We felt very safe while still having a lovely experience. The room was enormous, so comfortable and absolutely immaculate. We even had a sea view which was lovely! The breakfast and dinner were delicious, but a special mention has to go to the lovely staff who were so pleasant and helpful. We're missing The Douglas already and will definitely be back.

Guest review

11/07/2021
Came here for a two-night stay and it was great as always. Food was great and just love staying here. Ended up booking to come back again two weeks later. Now have three rubber ducks and look forward to adding more to the collection. Keep up the great work Team Douglas!!!!

Guest review

30/06/2021
Stylish, smart, attentive staff, superb food. We sailed to Brodick on the sunniest and busiest weekend of the year. The hotel was absolutely buzzing but all of the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Covid regulations were being strictly observed, despite how busy the staff were. The food was superb, beautifully prepared and lovingly presented. Can’t fault the place, we will be back. The Chocolate Garden pot was an amazing unique dessert that enchanted our 12 year old son.

Guest review

17/06/2021
My mum and I stayed at the Douglas from 14 to 17 June 2021 and we've stayed numerous times before. My mum is a wheelchair user and has very limited mobility. The team at the Douglas are always so helpful and accommodating: they make sure we have a suitable table in the Bistro and are always happy to open doors to allow the chair through, help with bags etc. Staff are always very proactive in offering help and it makes us feel at home. We stayed in a ground floor room with wet room and it was great for my mum - the wet room is spacious and there's a shower seat with a handle. The dessert we had in the Bistro the first night almost made me weep, it was so good. Thank you to all of the team for another lovely stay.

Guest review

Reader Review

""The immaculate modern decor was matched by the well trained and charming staff, and no comfort was spared in our garden room …" "Dinner in the bistro was a pleasure, served by knowledgeable staff."

The Scots Magazine

01/08/2012
“Spanking new in every aspect. The bedroom was splendour personified.” “If I had known how good the food was going to be, I would have missed out the pre-dinner snifter and headed straight to the dining room …. The moules were delicious … but what followed out-muscled the mussels: Chateaubriand Espatada (a Portuguese delicacy) takes the form of skewered meat hanging on a hook, letting the juices flow. It was mouthwatering.” “The Douglas is definitely worth a visit. Only a stone’s throw from the harbour where the excellent and efficient Calmac ferry docks regularly, the staff are smart, efficient, friendly and helpful and give you the perfect welcome to this wonderful island. The mountains are only 15 minutes’ drive away.”

Garry Fraser

The Scotsman

26/07/2012
“Definitely worth the CalMac Journey” “Our pan-fried scallops (had) equal measures of sweet, salty and peppery. Great…The Tuscan spiced chicken had bags of flavour." "Bear hugs to the pastry chef…A trio of starry desserts…the hot lemon souffle, with a quenell of fuschia blackcurrant sorbet on the side, was splendid. Spiced coffee and milk chocolate mousse put the ding! in the pudding."

Gaby Souter

The Sunday Herald

01/07/2012
“Great blend of classic and modern.” “The staff were excellent." "…a great wee bar menu with lots of sharing platters and lovely nibbles…prices were great for the ambience and service." "It is quite rare to get a standard as high as this in touristy desitinations"

Andy Gemmell

Homes and Interiors

01/03/2012
“Transformed into a chic and contemporary island getaway, perfect for a weekend retreat…. a luxurious, elegant cocoon with 21 comfortable bedrooms”

Emma Langman

The Daily Record

04/01/2012
"Restored to its former glory" "Just the right combination of modern and classic" "Fabulous dinner in a warm and stylish restaurant … the dining room serves wonderful food, the waiters were knowledgeable and friendly."

Melanie Harvey

Press and Journal

28/01/2012
"Dinners were delicious … quite possibly the best pudding I have had." "Each of the 21 luxury rooms has been decorated in contemporary, simple tones but It is easy to see the amount of tender loving care that has gone into the work."

Shona Gossip,

Scotland The Best

18/01/2012
"Has raised the game in Arran immeasurably … the new place to go on this or any other island." "Seems to up the ante for all other hotels on the island… the New Arran it."

The Michelin Guide

15/01/2012
Spacious, light-filled bedrooms decorated in a contemporary style… classical French dishes with slight modern twists.

The Sun

14/01/2012
“The luxurious Douglas Hotel makes any visit to Arran complete.” “A hugely impressive 21-room boutique bolthole. The interiors are chic with a warm, luxurious feel — we felt relaxed seconds after stepping through the door. … The staff couldn’t have been friendlier.” “The main dinner event, a mouth-watering Chateaubriand steak, hung on a skewer so the juices of the perfectly cooked meat could mix with a Café de Paris butter and ooze down to the plate.” “There’s something special in watching the last ferry of the evening pull out of port as you sip a whisky in the hotel’s cosy bar.”

Steven Castelluccia

Scotland on Sunday

01/01/2012
”The service was exceptional. “ “Arran Aromatics toiletries are a gorgeous treat and there’s a plasma screen TV should you tire of the breathtaking views.” “We could hardly fault a menu that included Lamlash mussels in wine, cream and garlic, Arran beer-battered haddock with pea puree, and Scottish sirloin with peppered Arran blue cheese cream (their factory and shop are a stroll away).” “The candlit restaurant was bustling with locals, attracted to the sophisticated service from a young but worldly staff.”

Fiona Leith

Daily Mail, Lorne Gardner

24/11/2011
It is a forlorn challenge to find fault. The staff are delightful, a friendly face at every turn – and the hotel is the perfect base for exploring the stunning isle of Arran. A £7million investment has transformed the Douglas into a stylish and classy boutique establishment …vibrant and modern. … Our room was spacious, warm and comfortable – the en-suite bathroom bigger than some of the hotel rooms I have occupied in the past. But it is the view that truly takes your breath away, with Brodick Bay laid out in front of you, the castle poking its head through the trees in the distance and Goat Fell offering a majestic backdrop. The dining experience really got the taste buds going. The Chateaubriand served on a skewer still has me licking my lips at the memory. It was cooked so perfectly that the steak knife was redundant – you could cut it with your finger.

‘Scottish Hotel of the Year Awards’ - "Gold Guide to Scotland Best Hotels"

01/08/2012
"’Punchy, design-led boutique hotel … Food is flavoursome and delicious and the bar’s a hit too."

welcometoscotland.com

28/09/2012
This stylish boutique haven is all smooth fabrics and tasteful colours, with most bedrooms offering sweeping views of Arran’s famous mountains. The hotel restaurant was definitely worth staying in for.

i-on Magazine

18/10/2012
Arran is stunning and thanks to the resurrection of The Douglas you can enjoy an island escape combined with luxurious, modern hospitality Absolutely modern and luxurious in the vein of the best boutique hotels Views from the sea-facing rooms are breathtaking with Goatfell peak in the distance

The Irish Independent

25/05/2013
Ciaran Byrne – The Irish Independent (May 2013) From the window of the Douglas hotel in the little port of Brodick, you can see the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry ease into its berth after crossing from the mainland in glorious evening sunshine… It’s a near perfect picture. From the super cool hotel’s outdoor terrace, guests sip cold beer and stare out at the shimmering blue waters.. … the Douglas, a laid-back, boutique hotel restored beautifully by it’s owner – an exiled Arran islander… …With its plush rooms, huge ceilings and swish dining room offering seasonal Scottish cooking, the Douglas is an ideal base.

Made in Scotland Magazine

26/03/2014
The hotel team go to great lengths to ensure that guests feel relaxed and welcomed..focus on customer care. The Douglas Bar offers a relaxed and informal dining option..as well as the wonderful larder, it often comes as a surprise to find that there are seven golf courses on Arran – one for each day of the week! Why not book and stay and experience hospitality at The Douglas for yourself?

Made in Scotland Magazine (April issue 2014)

The Extra

01/05/2014
… an old favourite for southsiders, and it’s easy to see why…Arran offers the feel of being away without much of the expense. A beautifully presented, classic building that has a relaxed, comfortable and modern boutique feel… Absolutely no complaints when it came to my stay at the Douglas

The Extra (May 2014)

National Club Golfer

23/10/2014
Can there be a better Friday night commute than the CalMac ferry from Ardrossan to Brodick when you are staying at the Douglas Hotel? …The rooms in this stylish, boutique hotel are spacious, while the bar specialises in local whiskies and ales. In the bistro, you can choose from mains like Slow Cooked Lamb Stew and Arran Beer Battered Pollok…

National Club Golfer Magazine (October 2014)

Discover_Snug

Offers

Our latest special offers.

DISCOVER >>

Discover_Snug

Bar

Check out our bar.

DISCOVER >>

Discover_Snug

Bistro

Have a peek at our Bistro.

DISCOVER >>

Discover_Snug

Arran

More about our island.

DISCOVER >>

2020 Prestige Hotel Awards - Winner Best Boutique Hotel In Scotland
2020 Prestige Hotel Awards - Best Hotel Team
2019 Prestige Hotel Awards - Winner Best Couples Hotel
2018 Prestige Hotel Awards - Winner Best Boutique Hotel
2017 Prestige Hotel Awards - Winner Independent Hotel Of The Year
2016 Scottish Hotel Awards - Regional Winner for Bar Dining & Most Hospitable Hotel
2016 Scottish Hotel Awards - Food and Beverage Manager of the Year 2016
2015 Scottish Hotel Awards - Receptionist of the Year
2014 Scottish Hotel Awards - Regional Winner of the Boutique Hotel
2013 Scottish Hotel Awards - Boutique Hotel of the Year & Good Food Award
2012 Scottish Hotel Awards - New Hotel of the Year
2012 Scottish Hotel Awards - Bedroom Design Award
2012 Scottish Hotel Awards - Gold Laurel, Outstanding Achievement for Restoration